Saturday, April 5, 2014

Little Sis' April Read

While on a business trip to a large suburb of Chicago I read a debut thriller in which the main characters were Chicago natives.  It's called The Good Girl by Mary Kubica.  Published by Mira, it's touted to be in the tradition of Gillian Flynn and Tana French.  It's written in present tense throughout, alternating perspectives, but not as...errr...nasty as a Gillian Flynn; if you prefer a more conservative read, this is for you.  The story centers around the abduction of the daughter of a prominent judge; and how her disappearance affects her very different parents.  Don't want to give the story away, it goes on sale this August--but I felt the feelings of the parents were not presented with consistency.  Outside of that, it was good enough that I had to stay up and finish it.

No comments:

Post a Comment